Food Allergies & Intolerances

Sodexo dining campuses are equipped and dedicated to accommodate customers who have food allergies, Celiac disease, or other dietary needs. Our managers communicate daily with customers, in order to provide safe, healthy, and delicious options. Your campus dining experience should be enjoyable and Sodexo takes pride in creating site-specific options where customers with allergies can safely choose and enjoy their meals.

my zoneMy Zone is our campus “pantry” where food items needed by students with celiac disease or food allergies can be housed with precautions against cross-contact.  This special area is free of gluten-containing ingredients, as well as tree nuts and peanuts. My Zone gives students the ability to be involved in their own allergen-safe meal preparation.

simple servingsSimple Servings is our allergen-safe, dining option for our customers with food allergies, gluten intolerance, or those who prefer plain and simple foods. The Simple Servings station offers food free from common allergens: peanuts, tree nuts, shellfish, wheat, soy, milk products, and eggs. 

All foods offered are also free from gluten-containing ingredients. Simple Servings staff members are carefully trained to avoid cross-contact with food allergens. Separate equipment, storage areas, utensils and preparation areas minimize, but do not totally eliminate, the chances of gluten and allergens in our Simple Servings foods. 75% of Simple Servings items also meet our Mindful criteria, which makes it an easy and healthy choice for customers who are focused on ingredients and portion size to control weight, blood sugar and other health issues.

Our Work with Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE):

Sodexo works closely with Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE) to promote allergy awareness and improve the quality of life for students with food allergies. More information can be found on the FARE website at Managing Food Allergies at College

For more information about the most-common allergens, click on the links below:

Do you have Celiac Disease or gluten sensitivity?

Gluten-free diets are necessary for individuals who are intolerant of the protein gluten, naturally found in wheat, rye, and barley, and present in many other foods.
The Gluten Intolerance Group raises awareness of gluten-related disorders and provides helpful resources including this Quick Start Gluten-Free Diet Guide.

Major and Hidden Sources of Gluten:

Major Sources of Gluten

  • Barley
  • Bran
  • Couscous
  • Flour (wheat)
  • Kamut
  • Malt
  • Matzo
  • Pasta
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Soy Sauce
  • Spelt
  • Sprouted wheat or barley
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Triticale
  • Udon
  • Wheat

Hidden Sources of Gluten

  • Beer
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Coloring
  • Fillers
  • Flavorings
  • Graham flour
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Mono- and diglycerides
  • Monosodium glutamate
  • Spices
  • Textured vegetable protein